top button
Flag Notify
    Connect to us
      Site Registration

Site Registration

Is it a boundary if a fielder touches the boundary before touching the ball?

+1 vote

If a fielder touches the boundary or steps outside the boundary but comes back inside the field of play when he actually fields the ball, will a boundary be awarded to the batting team?

posted Jun 16, 2016 by Abhishek Maheshwari

Share this question
Facebook Share Button Twitter Share Button LinkedIn Share Button

1 Answer

0 votes

Not a boundary

A boundary shall be scored whenever, while the ball is in play.

(i) the ball touches the boundary, or is grounded beyond the boundary.

(ii) a fielder with some part of his person in contact with the ball,
touches the boundary or has some part of his person grounded beyond
the boundary.

(iii) the ball, having crossed the boundary in the air, is first
touched by a fielder who has not satisfied the conditions below.

Section 4(i) is the requirement that a fielder cannot jump from beyond the boundary to make the first touch on a ball.
The crucial part here is clause (ii) which makes reference only to the current position of the fielder, not any previous position; therefore it doesn't matter what they may have done before the catch is made, it's only where they're positioned while the catch is being made.

answer Jun 18, 2016 by Ati Kumar
Similar Questions
+1 vote

If the ball hits the arm protector that is touching the glove of the leading arm in question that is holding the bat, is the catch considered legal, and the batsman out?

Is Batsman is Out, If ball hits the arm protector that is touching the glove holding bat?

+1 vote

If a batsman get bowled on free hit and ball goes to boundary, will four runs be added or not? Is there any rule about this?