top button
Flag Notify
    Connect to us
      Facebook Login
      Site Registration Why to Join

Facebook Login
Site Registration

If the ball pitches more than twice before reaching the crease at the striking end, what should the umpire call?

+1 vote
51 views
posted Feb 1, 2017 by Diya Borda

Share this question
Facebook Share Button Twitter Share Button Google+ Share Button LinkedIn Share Button Multiple Social Share Button

1 Answer

+1 vote
 
Best answer

No Ball

MCC rules state that a ball may be called a no-ball if it bounces more that twice before reaching the batsman/popping crease. This means if it bounces twice it is a legal delivery.

  • If the ball bounces twice before reaching the batter, it is legal ball.
  • If it bounces more than twice, including a roll, it is a no-ball.
answer Feb 7, 2017 by Naveen Kumar
Similar Questions
+1 vote

If a fielder touches the boundary or steps outside the boundary but comes back inside the field of play when he actually fields the ball, will a boundary be awarded to the batting team?

+1 vote

Who is out in the following scenario.

The batsman runs, while his partner doesn't. Both batsmen end up at the non-striker end, and a fielder hits the stumps at this end. Then the non-striker leaves the crease, and runs to the striker end. No fielder hits the stump at the striker end?

What will be the result of this?

+1 vote

There are times when the third umpire is unable to come to a firm conclusion about a decision, even after the use of multiple replays.
What should happen in this case?

Contact Us
+91 9880187415
sales@queryhome.net
support@queryhome.net
#280, 3rd floor, 5th Main
6th Sector, HSR Layout
Bangalore-560102
Karnataka INDIA.
QUERY HOME
...