top button
Flag Notify
    Connect to us
      Facebook Login
      Site Registration Why to Join

Facebook Login
Site Registration

If a batsman get bowled on free hit and ball goes to boundary, will 4 runs be added or not?

+1 vote
151 views

If a batsman get bowled on free hit and ball goes to boundary, will four runs be added or not? Is there any rule about this?

posted Apr 3, 2017 by Vijay

Share this question
Facebook Share Button Twitter Share Button Google+ Share Button LinkedIn Share Button Multiple Social Share Button

1 Answer

0 votes

No-ball delivery:
When a bowler over-steps, resulting in a no-ball, and the batsman's wicket has been disturbed with the ball going to the boundary, then 5 runs are awarded to the batting side. Five runs is split as one for overstepping and four for the boundary. All these 5 runs go into the extras (no-ball) column. However, if the ball touches the bat/glove before hitting the stumps and then goes to the boundary, 1 run is added in the extras column for the no-ball and 4 runs are added to the batsman's score. Either way, the batting side get 5 runs.

Free-hit delivery:

The delivery that immediately follows the no-ball (overstepping) in limited overs cricket is a free-hit. This means that the batsman cannot be dismissed in any way apart from a run out, handling the ball, hitting the ball twice or obstructing the field. So, if the ball hits the stumps and goes to the boundary, the batsman is not-out. Instead the batting team get 4 runs as extras (byes) for the ball reaching the boundary. If the batsman has nicked the ball before it hit the stumps on its way to the boundary, then all 4 runs are awarded added to the batsman's score.

Long story short, if a batsman gets bowled off a free hit and the ball goes to boundary, then YES, 4 runs will be added to the batting side.

answer Apr 10, 2017 by Abhishek Maheshwari
Similar Questions
+1 vote

Suppose, A batsman is on strike with 98 runs. The scores are level so the batting team requires only 1 run to win. Now suppose in the next ball, the bowler bowls a No ball and the batsman hits FOUR or SIX. Will the batsman reach to his century or not?

0 votes

Suppose a batsman hits the ball. The boundary fielder picks it up, but his leg touched the boundary rope.

The fielder throws the ball and one of the players is out of the crease when the wicket is broken.

Is the batsman run out or not ?

+1 vote

If a fielder touches the boundary or steps outside the boundary but comes back inside the field of play when he actually fields the ball, will a boundary be awarded to the batting team?

Contact Us
+91 9880187415
sales@queryhome.net
support@queryhome.net
#280, 3rd floor, 5th Main
6th Sector, HSR Layout
Bangalore-560102
Karnataka INDIA.
QUERY HOME
...