top button
Flag Notify
    Connect to us
      Site Registration

Site Registration

Cricket: What happens if the third umpire is unable to come to a firm conclusion?

+1 vote

There are times when the third umpire is unable to come to a firm conclusion about a decision, even after the use of multiple replays.
What should happen in this case?

posted Jun 13, 2016 by anonymous

Share this question
Facebook Share Button Twitter Share Button LinkedIn Share Button

1 Answer

0 votes

There are two different scenarios here:

1.The on field umpires refer a decision to the third umpire because they are unsure of the correct decision. In this case, the benefit of the doubt goes to the batsman, which generally means "not out".

2.The third umpire is brought into play after the use of a DRS review by one of the teams. In this case, the third umpire must have conclusive evidence to overrule the on field umpires, so if the third umpire is unsure, the decision made on the field stands.

answer Jun 23, 2016 by Ananya Saha