top button
Flag Notify
    Connect to us
      Site Registration

Site Registration

Does the batsman get runs on No ball when the team requires only 1 run to win?

+1 vote

Suppose, A batsman is on strike with 98 runs. The scores are level so the batting team requires only 1 run to win. Now suppose in the next ball, the bowler bowls a No ball and the batsman hits FOUR or SIX. Will the batsman reach to his century or not?

posted Jul 12, 2016 by anonymous

Share this question
Facebook Share Button Twitter Share Button LinkedIn Share Button

1 Answer

+1 vote

When the batting team requires only 1 run to win and batsman scores run(s) on No ball it does not count towards batsman's runs. So in the given case the batsman will remain on 98 and batting side will win the match.
Real Case:
In the 3rd match between Sri Lanka and India in Sri Lanka Triangular Series, 2010 (between Sri Lanka, India and New Zealand), India required 1 run to win and Virender Sehwag was on strike with 99 runs. Suraj Randiv was the bowler. He bowled a No ball and Sehwag smashed a Six but still Sehwag remained on 99 runs because India won the match before he score runs.

answer Jul 18, 2016 by Abu Anam
Similar Questions
+1 vote

If a batsman get bowled on free hit and ball goes to boundary, will four runs be added or not? Is there any rule about this?

+1 vote

Is a batsman out when the ball naturally turned back to his stumps , but ball first landed out of his crease?