top button
Flag Notify
    Connect to us
      Facebook Login
      Site Registration Why to Join

Facebook Login
Site Registration

Does Duckworth-Lewis Method consider “free-hit” situations?

+3 votes
Does Duckworth-Lewis Method consider “free-hit” situations?
posted Jun 16, 2016 by anonymous

Share this question
Facebook Share Button Twitter Share Button Google+ Share Button LinkedIn Share Button Multiple Social Share Button

1 Answer

0 votes

The free-hit rule is more recent than Duckworth–Lewis so the original D/L method (which came into force in English domestic cricket 1997) would not have taken this into consideration. I have been following cricket for many years in England and I’m not aware of any changes to the D/L system taking the free-hit into account.

However, it is worth noting that Duckworth–Lewis does take into account wickets lost by the batting side: the more wickets you lose, the steeper your run chase will be. If you have a free hit, you are less likely to lose a wicket; this in itself should be a slight advantage to the batting side, even if Duckworth–Lewis does not consider free hits in its calculations.

answer Jun 18, 2016 by Ati Kumar
Similar Questions
+1 vote

If a batsman get bowled on free hit and ball goes to boundary, will four runs be added or not? Is there any rule about this?

+3 votes

A batsman's bat breaks while hitting the ball after which a piece of the bat flies in the air, hits the stumps and the bails fall down.
Is there any rule for it?

Contact Us
+91 9880187415
#280, 3rd floor, 5th Main
6th Sector, HSR Layout
Karnataka INDIA.