top button
Flag Notify
    Connect to us
      Facebook Login
      Site Registration Why to Join

Facebook Login
Site Registration

What is the role of Saptarishi (seven sages) in Hinduism and what are there names?

+4 votes
What is the role of Saptarishi (seven sages) in Hinduism and what are there names?
posted Apr 15, 2016 by Madhavi Latha

Share this question
Facebook Share Button Twitter Share Button LinkedIn Share Button

1 Answer

+2 votes
Best answer

Universe has many constellations.
The Big Dipper constellation is also called as Saptarshi.
Actually we should be proud of our Hindu Scriptures, as we our texts tell a lot about universe even before it was discovered by our scientists.
The list of the Seven Rishis is given by Jaiminiya Brahmana 2.218-221:
They are, Namely, :

and Agastya,

The Saptarishis (seven sages) are the seven mind born sons of Brahma. They live for a period of time known as a manvantar (306,720,000 Earth Years). During this period of time they serve as representatives of Brahma.

Saptarishis occupy a position higher than that of all other devtas.
At the end of a manvantara the universe gets destroyed and Saptarishis merge in God the task of filling the earth is given to new appointed Saptarishis. And the cycle continues. ( In my future articles I will write about the age of Brahma also :)

Stay Tuned !

answer Aug 23, 2016 by Pankaj Maurya
Contact Us
+91 9880187415
#280, 3rd floor, 5th Main
6th Sector, HSR Layout
Karnataka INDIA.