top button
Flag Notify
    Connect to us
      Site Registration

Site Registration

What is the currency of 'Mongolia'?

+1 vote
What is the currency of 'Mongolia'?
posted Jun 20, 2017 by Abdul Sukoor

Share this question
Facebook Share Button Twitter Share Button LinkedIn Share Button

1 Answer

0 votes

Mongolian tögrög

The tögrög also called tugrik is the official currency of Mongolia. It was historically subdivided into 100 möngö. Currently, the lowest denomination in regular use is the 10-tögrög note and the highest is the 20,000-tögrög note. In unicode, the currency sign is ₮.

The tögrög was introduced on December 9, 1925 at a value equal to one Soviet ruble, where one ruble or tögrög was equal to 18 grams of silver. It replaced the Mongolian dollar and other currencies and became the sole legal currency on April 1, 1928.

answer Jun 20, 2017 by Shivaranjini