top button
Flag Notify
    Connect to us
      Site Registration

Site Registration

What are the run levels in linux and how to change them ?

+4 votes
What are the run levels in linux and how to change them ?
posted Jun 26, 2015 by Mohammed Hussain

Share this question
Facebook Share Button Twitter Share Button LinkedIn Share Button

1 Answer

+1 vote

A run level is a state of init and the whole system that defines what system services are operating and they are identified by numbers.There are 7 different run levels present (run level 0-6) in Linux system for different purpose. The descriptions are given below.

0: Halt System (To shutdown the system)

1: Single user mode

2: Basic multi user mode without NFS

3: Full multi user mode (text based)

4: unused

5: Multi user mode with Graphical User Interface

6: Reboot System

To change the run level, edit the file “/etc/inittab” and change initdefault entry ( id:5:initdefault:). If we want to change the run level on the fly, it can be done using ‘init’ command.

For example,

when we type ‘init 3' in the commandline , this will move the system from current runlevel to runlevl 3. Current level can be listed by typing the command 'who -r'

answer Jul 6, 2015 by Manikandan J
Similar Questions
+2 votes

I have a huge code base and it is showing files with zero bytes .
Can someone share a linux command to delete files with zero bytes in one attempt ?

+1 vote

I have a Linux machine and windows machine, I need to run a GUI of Linux machine on the windows machine.
I don't want to use putty or any other software. I have to use any Perl modules to achieve this please help.