top button
Flag Notify
Site Registration

What are the layers of RMI Architecture ?

+2 votes
What are the layers of RMI Architecture ?
posted Mar 23, 2015 by Roshni

Share this question
Facebook Share Button Twitter Share Button LinkedIn Share Button

1 Answer

+1 vote
Best answer

The RMI architecture consists of the following layers:

Stub and Skeleton layer: This layer lies just beneath the view of the developer. This layer is responsible for intercepting method calls made by the client to the interface and redirect these calls to a remote RMI Service.

Remote Reference Layer: The second layer of the RMI architecture deals with the interpretation of references made from the client to the server’s remote objects. This layer interprets and manages references made from clients to the remote service objects. The connection is a one-to-one (unicast) link.

Transport layer: This layer is responsible for connecting the two JVM participating in the service. This layer is based on TCP/IP connections between machines in a network. It provides basic connectivity, as well as some firewall penetration strategies.

answer Mar 25, 2015 by Karthick.c