top button
Flag Notify
    Connect to us
      Facebook Login
      Site Registration Why to Join

Facebook Login
Site Registration

Different Sports Awards in India

+4 votes

In India sports awards are presented by the Government of India to athletes and sports persons for their accomplishments and outstanding performances in the various fields of sports. Initially, the Indian Government used to grant these awards to the athletes and sports persons for their excellent performances in all types of sport competitions. But, the Sports awards are given only in those events that fall under the Olympic Games, Asian Games, Commonwealth Games, World Championship or the World Cup and also in Cricket. The awards are also given for the National level competitions and for Sports intended for the Physically Challenged. 

Reputed and Esteemed Sports Awards in India are:

Arjuna Awards 
The Arjuna Awards were established by the Indian Government in 1961 for the excellent performance by the sportspersons in various events. The award holds a cash prize of INR 500,000, a bronze statue of Arjuna and a scroll. The Government has recently modified the format of the award. As per revised guidelines, a sportsperson must have a constant excellent performance for the previous three years at international level to be eligible for the award, along with extraordinary qualities like leadership, sportsmanship and a sense of discipline.

Dronacharya Award 
Instituted in 1985, the Dronacharya Award is presented by the Indian Government for brilliance in sports coaching. The award consists of a bronze figurine of Dronacharya, a cash price of Rupees 500,000 and a scroll of honor. Since the best sportsperson award is named Arjuna Award, it would be appropriate that the best coaching award is named Dronacharya, the Guru of Arjuna.

Dhyan Chand Award
The Dhyan Chand Award is the highest lifetime achievement award in sports and games in India and is presented by the Indian Government. Initiated in 2002, the award bears a cash prize of INR 500,000 rupees, a figurine, ceremonial dress and a scroll of honor. It is named after the renowned Indian hockey player Dhyan Chand.

Rajiv gandhi Khel Ratna
In India, the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is the highest honor given for accomplishment in sports. The term "Khel Ratna" translated in Hindi literally means "sports gem". Named after the former Prime Minister of India, Rajiv Gandhi, the award carries a medal, a significant cash price of Rupees 750,000 and a scroll of honour. The award was initiated in 1991-92 to offer a highest national tribute in the field of sports. The award was formulated to present the utmost honour for exceptional sporting performance, whether by an individual or a team in all sporting disciplines in a year.

Other Sports Awards in India 
The Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Award is given mainly to the overall top winners in the Inter-University Tournaments. In Punjab, the Maharaja Ranjit Singh Award is given by the Government of Punjab for excellent achievement in the field of Sports. Apart from these awards there are few other special awards from the Government of India that are given to the medal winners in international sporting events. The Government also confers some cash awards. 

posted Jun 14, 2016 by Deepak Jangid

  Promote This Article
Facebook Share Button Twitter Share Button Google+ Share Button LinkedIn Share Button Multiple Social Share Button

Related Articles

1) P V Sindhu:- 
P. V. Sindhu or Pusarla Venkata Sindhu is an ace shuttler and silver medalist at 2016 Rio Summer Olympics. She started playing badminton from the age of eight after she drew inspiration from Pullela Gopichand's victory in All England Open Badminton Championship in 2001.


2) Mary Kom:- Mary Kom's career started in 2000 after her victory in the Manipur state women's boxing championship and the regional championship in West Bengal. In 2014 Asian Games, she won a gold medal and created history for India. She won the gold in the women's flyweight (48-52 kg) division which was her first gold medal in the Asian Games. 


3) Sakshi Malik:- Sakshi Malik is an Indian wrestler who has won a bronze medal in the 58 Kg category at the 2016 Rio Summer Olympics. She has become the first female Indian wrestler who has bagged a medal at the Olympics. The Government of Haryana has honoured Sakshi Malik with a cash award of ₹2.5 crore. 


4) Saina Nehwal:- Saina Nehwal is a badminton player from India who is among the world’s top players in women’s badminton and she has won a number of championships. In 2015, Saina Nehwal won the women’s singles event at the Indian Open Grand Prix Gold and in the final; she beat Spanish player Carolina Marina.


5) PT Usha:- P. T. Usha was one of India's best-known women athletes. She remained the queen of track and field for almost two decades. P.T. Usha was fondly called the "Payyoli express" and the golden girl because of her awesome speed on the track.  P. T. Usha has won 33 international medals including 13 Gold medals in the Asian Games and Asian Championships.


6) Anjali Bhagwat:- Anjali Bhagwat is the first woman in the shooting sport, who has become an inspiration for the youngsters to take up the game as their profession. She has taken strenuous efforts in order to gain recognition in the shooting world. She won four gold medals at the 2002 Manchester Commonwealth Games.


7) Sania Mirza:- Sania Mirza is an Indian tennis star and one of the top doubles tennis players in the world. She is the most successful Indian female tennis player. In 2015, she was honoured with Rajiv Gandhi KhelRatna Award and a year later she was awarded the Padma Bhushan, India’s 3rd highest civilian honour.


8) Mithali Raj:- Mithali Dorai Raj is captain of the Indian Women's cricket team in Test's and ODI. She is the second highest run scorer in women's international cricket and only second woman cricketer to surpass 5,500 run mark.

Contact Us
+91 9880187415
#280, 3rd floor, 5th Main
6th Sector, HSR Layout
Karnataka INDIA.