top button
Flag Notify
    Connect to us
      Site Registration

Site Registration

Interesting Facts about ICC Champions Trophy

+1 vote

The 2017 ICC Champions Trophy is Schedules to occur from June 1 to June 18 in England and Wales. The multination competition should include the main eight ODI groups in worldwide cricket. The top eight ODI playing countries qualified on the basis of the ICC rankings as on 30 September 2015.

The first edition of the ICC Champions trophy tournament was held in Kenya and was played   out as a knockout event

Sri Lanka is the only host to have won the Champions Trophy -- The Island country which hosted the 2002 version of the competition, jointly shared the title to India after rain played spoilsport in the finals.

 Most Titles Won - Australia and India have won the tournament most number of times. The Aussies won the title in 2006 and 2009 while India annexed the trophy in 2002 and 2013.

Champions Trophy is the only multination tournament that South Africa has won -- Champions Trophy is the only multination ICC competition South Africa has ever won. South Africa won the inaugural edition of the competition held in Kenya in 1998. South Africa have been not able win the ICC World Cup or the T20 World Cup

Most Final Appearances without winning a title - England are the only side to have made the last twice without winning a title. The English side made it to the finals in 2004 and 2013. 

West Indies has not qualify for the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy.

Champions Trophy is  held once every four years -- Up to 2006 the Champions Trophy was held every two years. The 2008 Champions Trophy which was supposed to be held in Pakistan moved to South Africa in 2009 due to security reasons. From then on it is held every four years like the World Cup. 

Bangladesh shall be featuring in the ICC Champions Trophy for the first time since 2006.

posted Jun 1, 2017 by Shubham Murthy

  Promote This Article
Facebook Share Button Twitter Share Button LinkedIn Share Button