top button
Flag Notify
    Connect to us
      Site Registration

Site Registration

Can referees change their decision?

+1 vote

Let's imagine an ideal situation:

  • A player scores a goal
  • Before scoring, they deliberately handle the ball
  • None of the referees notice the foul
  • The referee validates the goal
  • The scorer admits (before restarting game) to referee they committed a foul before scoring
    My question is: what should the referee do in this case? Should they care about what the scorer said, change their mind and so changing their decision? Are there rules about this situation?
posted Apr 15, 2017 by Ramesh Gowda

Share this question
Facebook Share Button Twitter Share Button LinkedIn Share Button

1 Answer

0 votes

Decisions of the referee

The decisions of the referee regarding facts connected with play, including whether or not a goal is scored and the result of the match, are final. The referee may only change a decision on realising that it is incorrect or, at his discretion, on the advice of an assistant referee or the fourth official, provided that he has not restarted play or terminated the match.

If play has not restarted, the referee can change the ruling. However, if play has restarted, no change can be made.

answer Apr 26, 2017 by Pratiksha Shetty
Similar Questions
+1 vote

I am currently watching the UEFA EURO 2016 matches and I saw the referees checking the shoes of the players.
What are they looking for?

+1 vote

What's the maximum number of red cards that a referee can give in a football match? Is there a limit to the number?

And does it vary from league to league and tournament to tournament?