top button
Flag Notify
    Connect to us
      Facebook Login
      Site Registration

Facebook Login
Site Registration

How many states are there in India?

+1 vote
How many states are there in India?
posted Jan 15, 2018 by Pankaj Bhadauriya

Share this question
Facebook Share Button Twitter Share Button LinkedIn Share Button

1 Answer

0 votes

India has 36 states out of which 9 are union territories and 29 are full states. Following is the complete list -

Andhra Pradesh Founding Date 01-Oct-53
Capital (Amaravati)

Arunachal Pradesh Founding Date 20-Feb-87
Capital (Itanagar)

Assam Founding Date 26-Jan-50
Capital (Dispur)

Bihar Founding Date 26-Jan-50
Capital (Patna)

Chhattisgarh Founding Date 01-Nov-00
Capital (Naya Raipur)

Goa Founding Date 30-May-87
Capital (Panaji )

Gujarat Founding Date 01-May-60
Capital (Gandhinagar)

Haryana Founding Date 01-Nov-66
Capital (Chandigarh)

Himachal Pradesh Founding Date 25-Jan-71
Capital (Shimla)

Jammu and Kashmir Founding Date 26-Jan-50
Capital (Srinagar)

Jharkhand Founding Date 15-Nov-00
Capital (Ranchi)

Karnataka Founding Date 01-Nov-56
Capital (Bangalore)

Kerala Founding Date 01-Nov-56
Capital (Thiruvananthapuram)

Madhya Pradesh Founding Date 01-Nov-56
Capital (Bhopal)

Maharashtra Founding Date 01-May-60
Capital (Mumbai)

Manipur Founding Date 21-Jan-72
Capital (Imphal)

Meghalaya Founding Date 21-Jan-72
Capital (Shillong)

Mizoram Founding Date 20-Feb-87
Capital (Aizawl)

Nagaland Founding Date 01-Dec-63
Capital (Kohima)

Odisha Founding Date 26-Jan-50
Capital (Bhubaneswar)

Punjab Founding Date 01-Nov-66
Capital (Chandigarh)

Rajasthan Founding Date 01-Nov-56
Capital (Jaipur)

Sikkim Founding Date 16-May-75
Capital (Gangtok)

Tamil Nadu Founding Date 26-Jan-50
Capital (Chennai)

Telangana Founding Date 02-Jun-14
Capital (Hyderabad)

Tripura Founding Date 21-Jan-72
Capital (Agartala)

Uttar Pradesh Founding Date 26-Jan-50
Capital (Lucknow)

Uttarakhand Founding Date 09-Nov-00
Capital (Dehradun)

West Bengal Founding Date 26-Jan-50
Capital (Kolkata)

Union Territories of India
Andaman and Nicobar Islands Capital ( Port Blair)
Chandigarh Capital (Chandigarh)
Dadra and Nagar Haveli Capital (Silvassa)
Daman and Diu Capital (Daman)
Delhi Capital (New Delhi)
Lakshadweep Capital (Kavaratti)
Puducherry Capital (Pondicherry)

answer Jan 15, 2018 by Salil Agrawal
thanks for useful information
Contact Us
+91 9880187415
#280, 3rd floor, 5th Main
6th Sector, HSR Layout
Karnataka INDIA.