top button
Flag Notify
    Connect to us
      Facebook Login
      Site Registration

Facebook Login
Site Registration

What is the national language of India?

0 votes
What is the national language of India?
posted Nov 24, 2017 by anonymous

Share this question
Facebook Share Button Twitter Share Button LinkedIn Share Button

1 Answer

0 votes

None (its a misconception that Hindi is a national language which is the mother language of ~40% population)

Official languages (not national language) of the Union Government of Republic of India is English as mentioned in article 343/1 of the Constitution of India. Currently there are 22 official languages in India Assamese, Bengali, Bodo, Dogri, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Maithili, Malayalam, Meitei (Manipuri), Marathi, Nepali, Odia, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Santali, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu. States of India were free to adopt one or more local languages for all or any of the official purposes of that state. All 22 languages carry equal official status and Government documents can be in any of the 22 recognized official languages.

answer Nov 24, 2017 by Salil Agrawal
Contact Us
+91 9880187415
#280, 3rd floor, 5th Main
6th Sector, HSR Layout
Karnataka INDIA.