top button
Flag Notify
    Connect to us
      Facebook Login
      Site Registration

Facebook Login
Site Registration

Maputo is the capital of which country?

0 votes
Maputo is the capital of which country?
posted Sep 27, 2017 by Nikhil Pandey

Share this question
Facebook Share Button Twitter Share Button LinkedIn Share Button

1 Answer

0 votes

Maputo, formerly (until 1976) Lourenço Marques, port city and capital of Mozambique. It lies along the north bank of Espírito Santo Estuary of Delagoa Bay, an inlet of the Indian Ocean. Maputo derived its former name from the Portuguese trader who first explored the region in 1544. The town developed around a Portuguese fortress completed in 1787. Created a city town in 1887, it superseded the town of Moçambique as the capital of Portuguese East Africa in 1907.

Additional Information:

Maputo is located on the west side of Maputo Bay, at the estuary mouth of the Tembe River at the Indian Ocean in southeast Africa, about 60 km east of the border triangle of South Africa's Pretoria province, Swaziland and Mozambique.

answer Oct 4, 2017 by Manikandan J
Contact Us
+91 9880187415
#280, 3rd floor, 5th Main
6th Sector, HSR Layout
Karnataka INDIA.