top button
Flag Notify
    Connect to us
      Facebook Login
      Site Registration

Facebook Login
Site Registration

Who was the first Muslim President of the Indian National Congress?

0 votes
Who was the first Muslim President of the Indian National Congress?
posted May 5, 2017 by Neeraj Kumar

Share this question
Facebook Share Button Twitter Share Button LinkedIn Share Button

1 Answer

0 votes

Badruddin Tyabji

Badruddin Tyabji (10 October 1844 – 19 August 1906) was an Indian lawyer who served as the third President and first Muslim president of the Indian National Congress and as elected for it in year 1887.

Muslim Presidents of INC before independence
1. Badruddin Tyabji became President in 1887 INC Session - Madras
2. Rahimtulla M. Sayani became President in 1896 INC Session - Calcutta
3. Nawab Syed Muhammad Bahadur became President in 1913 INC Session - Karachi
4. Syed Hasan Imam became President in 1918 INC Special Session - Bombay
5. Hakim Ajmal Khan became President in 1921 INC Session - Ahamedabad
6. Maulana Mohammad Ali became President in 1923 INC Session - Cocanada (now Kakinada)
7. Maulana Abul Kalam Azad became President in 1923 INC Special Session - Delhi
8. Dr.Mukhtar Ahmed Ansari became President in 1927 INC Session - Madras
9. Maulana Abul Kalam Azad again become President of The Indian National Congress in 1940 (until 1946) - INC Session

answer May 5, 2017 by Shivaranjini
Contact Us
+91 9880187415
#280, 3rd floor, 5th Main
6th Sector, HSR Layout
Karnataka INDIA.