top button
Flag Notify
    Connect to us
      Site Registration

Site Registration

How MLCs are elected in India?

+1 vote
How MLCs are elected in India?
posted Apr 23, 2017 by Prabu Kumar

Share this question
Facebook Share Button Twitter Share Button LinkedIn Share Button

1 Answer

0 votes

MLC i.e. Member of the Legislative Council are the members of Vidhan Parishad or Legislative Council which is the upper house of the States of India (Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Telangana, and Uttar Pradesh have Legislative Council)
An MLC is elected for six year and one-third of a Council's members expire every two years similar to Rajya Sabha. He/She must be citizens of India, at least 30 years' old, not an insolvent, and on the voters' list of the state for which he or she is contesting an election.

MLC Election Process
One-third are elected by members of local bodies such as Municipalities, Gram Sabhas/Gram Panchayats, Panchayat Samitis and Zila Parishads.
One-third are elected by members of Legislative Assemblies of the State from among the persons who are not members of the Assembly.
One-sixth are nominated by the Governor from persons having knowledge or practical experience in fields such as literature, science, arts, the co-operative movement and social service.
One-twelfth are elected by persons who are graduates of three years' standing residing in that state.
One-twelfth are elected by persons engaged for at least three years in teaching in educational institutions within the state not lower than secondary schools, including colleges and universities.

answer Apr 23, 2017 by Salil Agrawal
Thank you